Social Media for Dance Studios – Protecting Your Facebook Privacy

Kiner Enterprises Inc. Facebook Fan Page

Day #59 in our 90-Day Social Media Success Challenge for Dance Studios

Facebook privacy has been the topic of conversation for many people over the past 3-6 months, and it’s definitely something that you should be aware of to ensure that only certain information, that you choose, is being shared online through Facebook.

The other day, a friend of mine from college sent me a message that said,

Hi Ashani,

It appears like you are really fb savvy. Do you know how to set the setting to change who can see when you post on fb. I don’t necessarily want to notify everyone every-time I post.

Thanks!

JW

This prompted me to send her a reply message teaching her how to set up lists on Facebook. Creating lists is one of the methods you can use to protect your privacy, and only share updates with certain people on Facebook. For my thoughts on why you should have a separate Facebook profile page and fan page for your dance studio, and to learn more about protecting your privacy, please read my previous article, “Social Media for Dance Studios – Using Facebook Wisely”.

Here’s how to create lists on your Facebook profile page:

Go to your profile page…

My Facebook Profile Page

Go to the top right corner and click on Account…


Click on Edit Friends (it will be where you see the yellow highlight above).

It will take you to a page where all of your friends are listed. At the top left it says, “Create New List”. Click on it.


From there you will pick a name for your list, then click on the friends you want to be in that particular list. You can make as many lists as you like.


Once you’ve created these lists, click Save.

Then when you’re making your next update, in the space where you normally write your update, there is a little tiny lock icon next to the share button.

Click on the arrow next to the lock icon, then click on Customize…

A new window will open…

In the space there, type in the name of the list of people that you want to be able to see it. Click on Save setting. Then you can share your update like you normally would.


It’s really simple and easy once you do it. Was this blog post helpful to you? Do you use Facebook lists? Are you concerned about your Facebook privacy?

Please leave me a comment below.

Bookmark and Share

Post your comment here!
One Comment

Add a Comment

Or

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *